Quickly Forgotten

It’s pretty incredible how quickly it is to forget how things were. About six months ago we were in lockdown. We would go out to the stores and lines would be out the door, shelves were empty, arrows pointed around the store what traffic pattern we had to follow, masked faces and no one would make eye contact in “fear they’d catch the virus.” Comical in some senses how people avoided each other and yet also how sad to lose that human connection. Driving on the other hand was a different story, the roads were completely empty. It was so nice! And yet a reminder of what was going on in our nation.

Coming home from school tonight I had a reality check of how grateful I should be for the change. Life has gotten back to be somewhat normal (although there is still paranoia, fear, social distancing, and masks), but life has continued on and along with that, traffic.

As I was getting on the highway, I was frustrated with the car in front of me who creeped onto the highway and almost came to a complete stop on the ramp. Once I got on the road, everyone seemed to be creeping with no desire to get home, along with both lanes going to same speed so you couldn’t pass anyone to get over. I even had to pass my exit and go to the next one because there was a line of cars blocking me switching.

After my frustration all the way down the highway, I had to smile as I passed my exit as I thought back over the past year, and actually how grateful I am for the representation of that traffic (even if I don’t like traffic). Because that means the economy is moving forward, that means people are out and about and living, that means that we aren’t in quarantine.

And for that, I’m grateful. I’m reminded about how easily we forget. Sometimes it’s good, sometimes it’s not, and tonight it was good for me to be reminded of what I have and thank the Lord for a steady job. Thank the Lord for health. Thank the Lord for… traffic!

Leave a comment