It’s the most busiest time of the year. . .

While I love this time of the year, there is no denying that this is one of the most hectic times of the year as well. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a Scrooge by any stretch of the imagination, but it is also a very tiring and draining time. I’ve decorated my classroom with lights and a “light tree.” I’ve “decorated” my apartment with lights and a mini fiber optic-lighted tree. I’ve gone caroling to the neighbors, and participated in my church’s Christmas Cantata, yet, there is an emptiness. Going, going, going is great and is helpful to not get bored or reflect on self, but it is also very easy to get wrapped up in the “things” of the season rather than reflect on the reason of the season. My challenge to myself, and to whoever may read my post, is to pause and take a moment every day to think about why in the world we celebrate this time of year. It isn’t just a holiday to be busy for busy sake, but rather a time to reflect on the Ultimate Gift that was born those many years ago to redeem you and me. Dictionary.com deemed “identity” as the word of the year for 2015 and if that is indeed the case, what is my identity. Technically many words can describe my identity, but when others see me or hear my name, what do they think of? That truly is my identity. Teacher, athlete, friend, sister, daughter, co-worker, and coach would be a few that I think would be considered my identity, but I pray that one of Christian would be first and foremost.

Leave a Reply

